«

»

Review: THIRD DEGREE by Julie Cross

In Third Degree by Julie Cross, Isabel Jenkins struggles during her surgical internship, not because she is inept, or because she is sleeping with and at odds with another intern. It is because she is too much of a genious, lacks interpersonal relationship skills, and oh yeah, she is only eighteen. As a prodigy, she was on the fast track to success until she is totally derailed by failing her psychologic evaluation. Attempting to find some semblance of normalcy for a teenager, she re-enrolls in a different college and meets Marshall.

18590125Marshall is the totally hot RA who has taken an immediate interest in Izzy. Izzy is initially put off that Marshall knows her history but she cannot deny her attraction to him. Marshall wants to help Izzy assimilate into college life and Izzy decides to go for it. We learn along the way that Marshall has his own secrets, but that is partly what helps solidify their relationship. Unfortunately, when as Lizzy starts to care more for Marshall she also learns that there is more to dealing with patients then just figuring out their disease. The revelation rocks Izzy and she gets confused by what she wants. A life in Medicine? A life with Marshall? Does she have to sacrifice one for the other?

I really loved this story. Cross does a great job getting you to feel for the characters. I found the storyline to be unique and really enjoyable. Izzy was definiteyly not your cookie cutter heroine and I found myself pulling for her to just ler herself “feel” for Marshall. Marshall was great. He was your typical hot college guy, but the twist, his secret, was unexpected. I sort of figured something was gonna come up, and initially my thoughts were much worse, but I think it added so much to the story and to Izzy’s growth as a person.

I also commend Cross on her ability to build up some hot chemistry between Izzy and Marshall without being too crude. The book is rounded out with a great supporting cast. Marshall’s sisters were so funny and I loved the sense of closeness in his family. Overall, I really enjoyed reading this book and I was so pleased with the ending. Nothing better than a HEA in a stand alone book.

Reviewed by Paulette

* * * * *

About the Book:

Title: Third Degree
Author: Julie Cross
Publisher: Random House Flirt
Release Date: March 25, 2014
Category: New Adult
Source: ARC received by Author

Book Summary:

Fans of Monica Murphy and Tammara Webber will savor this New Adult novel—a story about coming of age in the heat of the moment—from Julie Cross, the internationally bestselling author of the Tempest trilogy.

I used to be “Isabel Jenkins, child prodigy.” As lame as that sounds, at least it was an identity. But now I’m not sure what I am. I just failed the most important exam of my life—the emotional readiness test required to get into a medical residency program—and it turns out my parents can’t stand each other. Now I’m trying to figure out how to pick up the pieces of my life, and that means re-enrolling as a college freshman, but this time I’m shutting the books and majoring in being eighteen.

But so far, my roommate hates me and I’m not into the party scene. The only good thing about school has been getting to know my insanely hot RA. Marshall Collins makes me wonder about everything I missed while I was growing up too fast. Pretty soon we’re hanging out constantly, but for the first time, I find myself wanting more than a no-strings-attached physical relationship. And the lesson I really need is one Marsh definitely can’t teach me: love. Because I’m going to be alone forever if I don’t learn fast.

Leave a Reply