«

»

Review: GOOD GIRL OVERBOARD by Denise Swanson

In Good Girl Overboard by Denise Swanson, Darcy Simmons thought she had put her days of reviewing cruise ships behind her. All she wanted to do was write her novel and plan her wedding. When Darcy catches her fiancè, Yale, cheating on her with a barely legal young woman, Darcy calls off the wedding.  Yale skips town leaving Darcy to pay the bills and forcing her to go back to a job she loathes. Deciding to mend her broken heart with a fling while on assignment,  Darcy literally bumps into her dream guy. Only it turns out this dream guy is also the ship’s captain, Mitch James. Can Darcy stay objective with her review and have the fling of a lifetime?

24990558This is Denise Swanson ‘s first contemporary romance and I have to say she that she wrote an excellent book. Good Girl Overboard is a cute,  sexy,and fast paced read with well developed characters. When I finished this book, I gave out a long sigh because I didn’t want it to end.

Darcy is great as the heroine. She is smart, funny and caring. Darcy struggles throughout the book to remain objective. When her boss tells her to find something wrong with the ship or else, Darcy decides to face the or else even if it means financial ruin.

Mitch is a terrific choice for Darcy’s HEA. Despite being the owners son, Mitch remains humble throughout the book.Their chemistry is instantaneous and hot! When Yale shows up on the ship, Mitch goes into full Alpha mode to protect her from the slime ball.

This is a great debut romance from an already established author. Fans of Jill Shalvis or Susan Mallery will enjoy this well written book. Just make sure you don’t have anything to do when you start reading because you won’t want to put this book down.

 

Reviewed by Candy

* * * * *

About the Book:

TitleGood Girl Overboard 

AuthorDenise Swanson

Publisher: Curtis Brown Unlimited

Release Date: March 1, 2015

Category: Contemporary Romance

Source: ARC received from Author

Book Summary:

Take a smoking-hot captain with a secret and an undercover cruise reviewer determined to change her sex life from flat to fiery. Shake well over rough seas. Serve on a king-size bed for a sizzling good time.

For twenty-eight years, cruise critic Darcy Simons has followed the rules. And what did it get her? A broken heart, an unfaithful fiancé, and a pile of bills taller than her uneaten four-tiered wedding cake. Clearly, it’s not blondes, but bad girls, who have more fun, and she is determined to become one of them.

While Darcy is on the maiden voyage of the Ocean Starr cruise liner to write a snarky review that will earn enough money to pay off her canceled wedding, she’s determined to break some personal rules and have a wild sexual adventure—she just needs to find the perfect man. When she bumps into Captain Mitch James, and both his briefcase and sparks fly, she knows Mitch is just the guy for the job.

Too bad Mitch has a firm no-messing-with-female-passengers rule. But when he discovers Darcy’s true reason for taking the cruise, he decides to use his charm to get a thumbs up for his ship. Breaking his own rules, he sets out to seduce her. Now, if he can just convince himself that his only interest in Darcy is a good review, he might make it back to port with his heart intact.

Publisher’s warning: This book contains sensual consummated love scenes. The Change of Heart series is about a group of small town friends who all need a fresh start and a change of outlook in order to find their forever loves.

Leave a Reply