«

»

Review: SHOULD’VE SAID NO by Tracy March

Happy sigh. Should’ve Said No by Tracy March is a charming, sexy contemporary romance story. The plot is original and the characters are amazing. I am such a character-driven reader and Should’ve Said No definitely met that interest of mine. Carden (hero) and Lindsey (heroine) are easy to read about. They had their flaws but you instantly liked them without thinking they were over-the-top perfect. Lindsey is so inspiring and I love when characters can do that for me.

25051866March created Thistle Bend as a town where everyone wants to live. Yes, there is a family feud that Lindsey is tasked to get to the bottom of as part of her job, and the town has it’s struggles but it sounds so lovely. The descriptions of the stores and houses are done so well that I could visualize the colors and vibrancy easily. I could practically taste the food that the characters were eating, too! I was constantly hungry while reading this book for ice cream and pastries.

The pacing of the story was spot on as I found myself turning pages quickly. The romance between Carden and Lindsey was compelling. It was easy but it wasn’t. It had the typical do-we or don’t-we aspect but it was written well because I wasn’t quite sure how things were going to play out. The intimate scenes in the story were passionate, fit the story and characters well and the only downside was that there weren’t enough of them! However, while I wish there were more, it would have upset the flow.

The supporting characters in Should’ve Said No really added an extra layer to the story and I found myself either loving them or wanting to shake some sense into them. March set this Thistle Bend series up nicely and I will be auto-reading the rest of it for sure! If you are looking for an engaging, feel-good, sexy contemporary romance, I suggest you give Should’ve Said No a try!

Reviewed by Amy* * * * *

About the Book:

Title: Should’ve Said No (Thistle Bend, #1)

Author: Tracy March

Publisher: Loveswept

Release Date: November 24, 2015

Category: Contemporary Romance

Source: ARC received from Publisher via NetGalley

Book Summary:

Welcome to Thistle Bend! Perfect for fans of Susan Mallery, this charming series debut introduces a small town where old secrets are revealed—and wounded hearts are opened to new love.

A year after being laid off from the Smithsonian, Lindsey Simms says yes to a job offer as curator of a heritage museum in Thistle Bend, Colorado (population 1,519). It could be worse—and it is. Because the new museum has escalated a dispute between the Karlssons, Lindsey’s relatives, and the Crenshaws, a blood feud which goes way back to a land deal that changed the fortunes of both families. Trying to stay objective, Lindsey can’t tell anyone about her conflict of interest—especially not the ruggedly handsome handyman fixing up her cabin, who seems to be keeping secrets of his own.

Although he’s the executive director of the family trust and one of Colorado’s most eligible bachelors, Carden Crenshaw prefers getting his hands dirty in town and on his sprawling ranch. Staying busy has given him an excuse not to risk heartbreak, but getting to know the beautiful “museum lady” makes him reconsider. Little does he know, the heat between them will only add fuel to the fire—unless this unlikely couple can prove they’re lovers, not fighters.

Leave a Reply