«

»

Review: BUTTERFLY COVE by Christina Skye

In Butterfly Cove by Christina Skye, Olivia Sullivan has just been fired from her architecture job in Seattle. Her life in disarray, Olivia returns home to Summer Island and to her friends who are like sisters to her. An errand to the local hardware store literally has her running into Deputy Sheriff Rafe Russo,  when they end up in a car wreck. Rafe, a Marine who served in Afghanistan,  is struggling on his new role. As a child, he was the bad boy of Summer Island, always in trouble and never expected to succeed in life. Olivia knows a different side of Rafe though. The side that she feel in love with in high school. Rafe doesn’t think he is good enough for Olivia. Can Olivia make him see the truth and find happiness?

17622934I  am really sad to be done with this series. All of the books were so well written. You know it’s a sign of a good series when you frantically search the Internet hoping the author decided to write just one more book.

The friendship between the four women is beautifully written. They all have separate lives but anytime one of them is in need,  they pull together to help out. They even give each other much needed kicks in the butt when things get stagnant.

The overall story line in this book is the classic bad boy from the wrong side of the town falling in love with the perfect good girl. Skye keeps the theme fresh with her own take on it. I loved how Rafe fought his attraction to Olivia and how she went after him, not caring what the busy bodies in town were saying.

I can’t review this book without mentioning the knitting. I so want to visit Island Yarns Shop. The description in the book was just so wonderful. I could imagine myself sitting down with any of the friends and knitting the afternoon away.

Butterfly Cove is the final book in the Summer Island series. Olivia and Rafe make for an excellent story that will keep readers telling themselves just one more chapter. Fans of Jill Shalvis and Susan Mallery should definitely read this series.

Reviewed by Candy* * * * *

About the Book:

Title: Butterfly Cove

Author: Christina Skye

Release Date: September 24, 2013

Publisher: Harlequin

Category: Contemporary Romance

Source: Borrowed from Library

Book Summary:

Girl’s gone bad…for the town’s new golden boy…

Maybe opposites don’t always attract. If they did, architect Olivia Sullivan would have run away with bad boy Rafe Russo when they were teenagers. Instead, Olivia has spent ten years dreaming up designs for a life that hasn’t gone the way she planned. Still reeling from her career’s implosion and her father’s death, Olivia thanks her lucky stars for the support of her three lifelong friends. But this good girl is through sitting on the sidelines. When Rafe returns to the beautiful Oregon coast where they grew up, her former flame ignites a new desire. Now Olivia must take a walk on the wild side to show the new deputy that in matters of love…being bad can feel very good.

Freshly back from Afghanistan, rugged ex-Marine and new deputy Rafe is done breaking laws and hearts. He’s always regretted leaving Olivia behind, but now she’s after adventure and he’d better proceed with caution. Because wanting her again might be easy, but fighting for a future together will be his biggest risk yet.

Leave a Reply